Daddy’s First Post

1dad

So what is it like being a dadof three and married to a Dutchie? Well let me just say, I’m pretty sure that’s where my receding hairline has come from. Just joking. It has been and continues to be very humbling. What is better than coming home from a long day and being greeted by whining barks (from the dog), and hearing the chants of “daddy, daddy, daddy” and “dada, dada, dada”? It immediate takes you away from the worries of the day.

The greatest thing is being touted around like there is no one comparable to you. Whether we go to the store or a school event or just a fun trip to the zoo; I know my kids are proud of me. Some times, especially with the burdens of live bearing down, its something you forget. But in some way they always do something to remind you about it.

To add a little background to our story, I would like to paint a better picture of where I came from. Remember that road trip you took and as you got far enough away from a big city it seemed like to take forever to get to the next city? You stair out the window seamlessly and it seems like the scenery hasn’t changed. Yes, that, that’s kind of what its like where I was born and raised. We were surrounded with miles upon miles of farmland, were almost everyone was either a farmer or rancher. It was a small community of less than 500 people. Most everyone either worked on a farm, had a farm, or raised animals. There were a number of small stores and in the next town over there are few familiar chains like Sonic, Burger King, McDonald’s, and eventually a Wal-Mart. Other than that it was a simple life where there wasn’t much of a fuss about anything.

Flash forward to present day. We are living in one of the ten most populated metropolitan areas in the US. Everyday is filled with traffic, the news is filled with crimes, and time is something of the essences (well at least until you have a meeting with someone and they show up anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour late). The culture is diverse and anything you need is just around the corner.

Hopefully, with our blog, I will be able to provide a daddy’s perspective. I hope that you find my writing captivating and understandable. Maybe my perspective helps you in your experiences. I also will be shedding light on many issues that I am sure we all face.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

